Election interest is good news for area voters

Tuesday, March 2, 2004

Good news, voters!

After a flurry of final-day filings, the voting citizens of McCook and Red Willow County will have an abundance of choices when they go to the polls this year.

In a rush that started in the morning and lasted until closing time, the clerk's office received filings Monday from 14 more candidates for city, county and school board positions.

"It was an exciting day," said Red Willow County Clerk Pauletta Gerver. "It's good to see so many of our citizens participating in the governmental process."

By the time the 5 o'clock deadline rolled around, there were a grand total of:

* Seven candidates for two positions on the McCook City Council;

* Six candidates for three positions on the McCook School District 17 Board of Education;

* Nine candidates for three positions on the Red Willow County School District 179 Board of Education;

* Two candidates for one Red Willow County Commission position, and:

* Two candidates for two positions on the Indianola City Council.

That's a total of 26 candidates, more than double the number of filings prior to the final day.

A number of filings also came forth on the state and regional level. There's now a race for both the At-Large and District I positions on the Mid-Plains Board of Governors. Duane Tappe of McCook, an at-large candidate, now faces opposition from Ted A. Klug, Jr. of Maxwell, and Lowell Fenster of North Platte, and Randall Datus of McCook is opposed by Elizabeth Benjamin, of Route 3, McCook, for the District I position.

McCook's two state level office holders -- Regent Don Blank and Public Service Commissioner Jerry Vap -- also face opposition. A Wausa woman, Anna B. Rosberg, is running against Vap for the District 5 Public Service position, and Dr. Blank faces opposition from three other candidates for the District 7 Nebraska Regents' seat. His challengers are Clark Anderson of Ogallala, C. David Hergert of Mitchell and Frank B. Svoboda of Ogallala.

Voters also will have an ample selection for the five at-large positions on the board of the Middle Republican Natural Resources District. Eleven have filed, including Wayne Madsen, Trenton; Stan Moore, Bartley; Joe Anderjaska, Hayes Center; Gayle Haag, Bartley; Del Harsh, Cambridge; John Monson, Wallace; Mary J. Robinson, Wellfleet; Rick D. Spencer, Culbertson; Claude L. Cappel, McCook; and Delaine Soucie, Cambridge.

The candidates have responded in admirable fashion to the appeal for filings. Now, it's the people's turn, as voters, to make the selections for these key local and regional positions. Only a little over two months remains until the May 11 primary election. Let's use that time to get acquainted with the candidates in order to choose the best qualified public servants.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: