Shrine Bowl star ready to join Bison for final 'hurdle'

Thursday, June 10, 2021
McCook senior Alec Langan breaks free from York Dukes during a Bison road win last fall.
R.B. Headley/McCook Gazette

SCOTTSBLUFF, Neb. — McCook Bison will tangle with state champion Dundy County-Stratton Tigers in what’s just part of what should be a fun West Nebraska All-Star football game Friday evening.

Super back Serbando Diaz joins DC-S top lineman Keegan Kutsinger on the West squad following their undefeated 2020 Class D-1 undefeated season.

Meanwhile, the East All-Stars include McCook’s Isaiah Weimers, Torrington Ford, Mason Schmoker and a Bison who clearly enjoyed last weekend’s Shrine Bowl experience.

Alec Langan earned South defensive Most Valuable Player Honors in a game featuring no touchdowns during the game’s final 44 minutes.

Langan made seven tackles to earn South honors even though his team fell short by a 10-3 final score.

“It was kind of cool going against the best athletes, especially with all the handicaps the defenses face,” the Class B all-state linebacker remarked. “There’s no blitzing. You can only have six defenders in the ‘box’. There a lot of things that help the offense win, yet it was a very low-scoring game.”

Despite all that being said, Langan would love one more offensive memory at the West Nebraska All-Star game.

Bison fans should remember he was the leading rusher on last fall’s 6-3 district champion football team.

Friday will be Langan’s last football since he elected not to play any collegiate sports.

“I wish they would give me one quick pitch because I want to jump over somebody,” he admitted. “I want to bust out a 39-inch hurdle. I don’t think it will happen...but I hope it does.”

The 43rd annual contest kicks off at 8 p.m. CDT (7 mountain) in Scottsdbluff’s Bearcat Stadium.

Other area all-stars on the East squad are Cambridge’s Ethan Sides, Wauneta-Palisade’s Braxton McKinney, Medicine Valley’s Trenton DeFruiter, Arapahoe’s Keegan Benson, Southern Valley’s Carter Bose and Clayton Berry.

Berry, Langan and Diaz all captured Nebraska state hurdling medals this spring.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: