NSAA approves sub-state round for Classes C1-D2 beginning in 2019

Friday, April 6, 2018

LINCOLN, Neb. -- Nebraska high school basketball will have a new postseason format for Classes C1, C2, D1 and D2 beginning in the 2018-2019 season.

The implementation of a sub-state round officially passed voting during Thursday morning’s Nebraska School Activities Association Board of Directors Meeting.

The sub-state format has already been used in Class B in recent years. Now, Nebraska’s four smallest classes will be using the format beginning next basketball season.

Using a sub-state format, a total of 16 teams, made up of 12 district winners and the top four non-district winners in the wildcard standings, compete in a final round to determine the eight teams that advance to the State Basketball Tournament. The 16 teams to qualify are seeded 1-16 based on wildcard points and matchups are made accordingly.

A similar format has also been used in volleyball for Classes B, C1 and C2. McCook made the sub-state round last fall, when the Lady Bison were seeded No. 9 and traveled to No. 8 Seward for a trip to the Class B State Volleyball Tournament. Cambridge and Southern Valley also have experience in the volleyball sub-state round.

In other action from Thursday’s meeting, sites for the State Wrestling and State Basketball will remain the same. Omaha will continue hosting the State Wrestling Meet and Lincoln will remain the host for the boys and girls State Basketball Tournaments. Those sites were approved for the next five years.

It was also approved to move up girls state volleyball one week earlier in November.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: