Bison, Red Devil rundown at Buzz Matson

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

OBERLIN, Kan. — A wrap-up of McCook Bison and Decatur Community, Kan., Red Devil wrestling results at Saturday’s 11-team Buzz Matson invitational:

Team scores: 1. Smith Center, Kan., 135; 2. Wray, Colo., 132; 3. Decatur Community 114.5; 5. 4. Oakley, Kan., 99; 5. Hoxie, Kan., 90; 6. McCook 84.5, 7. Goodland, Kan., 70; 8. Hill City, Kan., 59.5; 9. Osborne, Kan., 54’ 10. Trego, Kan., 23.5; 11. Stockton, Kan., 8.

120 pounds: McCook’s Carson Richards won the championship and scored 21 points. He pinned E. Cain, Oakley, in 1:52; pinned Z. Hamel, Hill City, in 1:53; pinned J. Stocker, Smith Center, in 1:30; won 14-5 over J. Dickson, Wray; and 8-3 title match over 19-6 D. Weimer, Hoxie.

126: Decatur’s Kel Grafel won the championship. He pinned N. Hrabe, Smith Center, in 3:38; pinned C. Segarra, Hill City, in 1:01; pinned Tate Felber, McCook, in 1:01; and pinned 18-6 J. Arambula, Wray, in 2:23. McCook’s Tate Felber placed third and scored nine points. He was pinned by Arambula in 3:56; pinned Hrabe in 1:54, lost to Grafel; and won 6-1 over Segarra.

132: Decatur’s Drew Juenemann won the championship. He pinned M. Crow, Goodland, in 4:31; won 13-2 over L. Beydler, Hill City; and won 2-1 title match over A. Baalman, Hoxie. McCook’s Mason Bales placed fourth and scored 11 points. He pinned T. Howell, Stockton, in 3:29; lost 11-6 to A. Baalman, Hoxie; pinned Crow in :49; and was pinned by J. Atwood, Smith Center, in 3:55.

113: McCook’s Trevor Felber placed second and scored 17 points. He won 10-2 over B. Lee, Smith Center; pinned Alex Eskew, Decatur, in 2:30; and lost 9-4 to C. Rockwell, Wray. Decatur’s Alex Eskew placed third. He pinned B. Wallace, Stockton, in 1:35; lost to Felber; pinned D. Hendrix, Trego, in 2:15; and won 9-2 over B. Lee, Smith Center.

138: Decatur’s Dawson Kempt placed second. He pinned D. Bedore, Stockton, in :43; won 11-8 over J. Arambula, Wray; and was pinned by D. Ensign, Goodland, in 1:41.

145: Decatur’s Isaiah Mason placed third. He pinned J. Ortiz, Goodland, in 1:54; was pinned by 22-1 S. Heise, Osborne, in 5:20; pinned D. Saffer, Wray, in 4:17; and won 3-1 over E. Hamel, Hill City.

195: Decatur’s Reegon Witt won the championship. He pinned S. Aummiller, Trego, in 2:47; pinned 9-1 B. Roenne, Osborne, in 5:12; won 7-6 over C. Berghuis, Wray; pinned Jared Cole, McCook, in 2:22; and pinned D. Holub, Goodland, in a 1:22 final. McCook’s Jared Cole placed fourth and scored eight points. He lost 7-6 to Holub; pinned Aumiller, in 2:46; lost 3-2 to Roenne; lost to Witt; and pinned Berghuis in 2:54.

160: McCook’s Landon Towne placed fourth and scored six points. He was pinned by E. Huerta, Wray, in 5:10; won 10-6 over C. Burkhart, Trego; and lost 10-8 to Huerta.

170: McCook’s Kody Hahn placed fourth and scored six points. He was pinned by C. Tarin, Wray, in 1:28; won 5-3 over 15-7 P. Nolette, Oakley; lost 7-1 to J. Hamel, Hill City; won 7-6 over J. Micek, Trego; and was pinned by B. Waters, Goodland, in 4:41.

McCook’s Kallen Feikert (138), Alec Langan (182) and Hunter Cummingham (285) competed but did not place.

Rowdy Farr (182 pounds) and Zeke Jimenez (285) were Decatur Red Devils who scored points but did not place.

David Waterman (152) placed fifth without scoring any points.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: