When state qualifiers compete on Saturday

Friday, May 19, 2017
Cambridge senior Kayla Shaner and the Trojans will be busy this weekend at state.
R.B. Headley

A glance at the schedule for all Gazette-area state track and field qualifers on Saturday at Omaha Burke Stadium:

All races are state finals.

8:30 a.m. — Class D girls’ triple jump: Brooke Scott, Hitchcock County. Class C girls’ shot put: Kylee Woodring, Southern Valley; Allison Owings, Chase County; and Payton Zarkowski, Dundy County-Stratton.

9 a.m. — Class B boys’ pole vault: Bryceton Trew, McCook.

9:30 a.m. — 800-run, Class D girls: Amanda Mote, Hitchcock County. Class D boys: Yordi Gutierrez, Arapahoe. Class C girls: Cali Gunderson, Cambridge; Mallie McNair, Chase County; and Sable Lambley, Dundy County-Stratton. Class C boys: Zach Miller, Cambridge. Class B girls: Emily Jacobs, McCook. Class B boys: Cameryn Berry, McCook.

10:30 a.m. — Class D boys’ long jump: Landon Lenz, Medicine Valley. Class C girls’ high jump: Katelyn Wheeler, Chase County.

10:45 a.m. — 400-relay, Class D girls: Hitchcock County (Kyleigh Scott-Jasmine Youngquist-Kassidy Kisker-Brooke Scott). Class C girls: Chase County (Taylor Williams-Taylin McNair-Katelyn Wheeler-Adelaide Maxwell). Class B girls: McCook (Laurel Schmidt-Holli Thomas-Jaden Bryant-Emily Arp). Class B boys: McCook (Corban Jernigan-Zach Schlager-Sam Smith-Ethan Wilcox).

11 a.m. — Class B girls’ triple jump: Shayne Coleman, McCook. Class B boys’ discus: D.J. Gross, McCook.

12 p.m. — Class C boys’ triple jump: Cody Williams, CC. Girls’ 100-hurdles (if qualified), Class D: Faith Simpson, Wauneta-Palisade. Class C: Savana Quinn, Southern Valley.

12:15 p.m. — Boys’ 110-hurdles (if qualified): Class D: Logan Burke, Medicine Valley. Class C: Derek Greenlee, Southwest; Cody Williams, Chase County; and Phalen Sanford, Dundy County-Stratton. Class B: Zach Schlager, McCook.

12:30 p.m. — 100-dash (if qualified): Class D girls: Kyleigh Scott, HC. Class C girls: Aubrey Frederick, Dundy County-Stratton; Adelaide Maxwell, CC; and Kayla Shaner, Cambridge.

12:55 p.m. — 400-dash (if qualified), Class D girls: Jasmine Youngquist, HC. Class D boys: Chase Newcomb, Medicine Valley. Class C girls: Mallie McNair, CC; Cali Gunderson, CAM; and Korynn Clason, Cambridge. Class B girls: Holli Thomas and Emily Jacobs, McCook. Class B boys: Sam Smith, McCook.

1 p.m. — Class C boys’ long jump: Alec May, Southwest; and Cody Williams, Chase County. Class D boys’ pole vault: Phalen Sanford, DC-S. Class D girls’ high jump: Faith Simpson, W-P; and Jasmine Youngquist, HC

1:45 p.m. — 1600-run, Class D girls: Kayla Minary, Maywood-Hayes Center. Class D boys: Cash Yearous, Wauneta-Palisade. Class C girls: Madison Lambley, Dundy County-Stratton; Cali Gunderson, CAM; and Destiny Reinke, Chase County. Class C boys: Will Kuenne, Chase County; and Zach Miller, CAM. Class B boys: Steven Hinze, McCook.

2:55 p.m. — Girls’ 300-hurdles (if qualified), Class D: Avery Johnson, Maywood-Hayes Center.

3 p.m. — Class B boys’ long jump: Morgan Fawver, McCook. Class D girls’ shot put: Faith Simpson, W-P. Class C boys’ discus: Lance Kelley, Southwest; and Tyler Davis, Dundy County-Stratton.

3:10 p.m. — Boys’ 300-hurdles (if qualified), Class D: Chase Matson, Hitchcock County; and Landon Lenz, Medicine Valley. Class C: Phalen Sanford, DC-S.

3:25 p.m. — 200-dash (if qualified), Class D girls: Kyleigh Scott, HC. Class D girls: Wyatt Standiford, Hitchcock County. Class C girls: Taylin McNair, CC; Korynn Clason, CAM; and Katelyn Wheeler, Chase County. Class C boys: Ryan Van Pelt, Southwest. Class B boys: Sam Smith, McCook.

3:55 p.m. — 1600-relay, Class D boys: Arapahoe (Gentry Anderson-Noah Koller-Yordi Gutierrez-Mykyta Sadok). Class C girls: Chase County (Mallie McNair-Taylin McNair-Taylor Williams-Kadyn Milner); and Dundy County-Stratton (Madison Lambley-Dawson Latta-Aubrey Frederick-Jessie Freeland). Class C boys: Dundy County-Stratton (Wyatt Lemon-Guillermo Diaz-Noah Kerchal-Phalen Sanford); and Chase County (Caleb Weiss-Scott Wheeler-Juan Venegas-Veleta-Bryson Fisher). Class B girls: McCook (Emily Jacobs-Holli Thomas-Robin Grigg-Riley Sis). Class B boys: McCook (Corban Jernigan-Zach Schlager-Sam Smith-Ethan Wilcox).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: