Harpst awards presented to Shellabarger, Langley

Wednesday, February 12, 2014
The Merle Harpst 2013 licensed winner was presented to Paul Shellabarger, PA-C. The non-licensed winner was presented to Barb Langley. Shown from left are Mark Harpst, Langley, Shellabarger and Roger Steinkruger, CE Courtesy photo

CAMBRIDGE, Nebraska -- The annual Merle Jane Harpst Awards were presented at the Tri Valley Health System Holiday party on Saturday night, Jan. 11, 2014, at the Cambridge Community Building.

The award is named for the late Merle Jane Harpst, longtime employee and administrator at Cambridge Memorial Hospital and Tri Valley Health System.

The award is funded by Merle Jane's son and his wife, Don and Alice Harpst of McCook.

The Outstanding Leadership award was presented to Judy Jackson, Beth Siegfried and Mark Harpst. Shown from left are Betty Jorgenson, Mark Harpst, Judy Jackson, Don Harpst and Beth Siegfried. Courtesy photo

Two awards are presented each year. Nominations are requested for both licensed and non-licensed employees. The recipients of this honor each received a monetary gift and a plaque in appreciation. Each year nominations are received from employees nominating their co-workers. The criterion for this award is the individual that sets an outstanding example of caring service for residents and patients. This individual also represents Tri Valley Health System in a positive manner; someone who always seems to go the extra mile in service to others and has a positive attitude.

This year's winners are non-licensed employee Barb Langley from DME/Volunteer Services and licensed winner is Paul Shellabarger, PA-C. The licensed nominees this year were Kathleen Vacura, Vesta Whipple, Dixie Landreth, Alysia Mowry, Carrie Hall, and Paul Shellabarger, PA-C. Non-licensed nominees included; Lloyd White, Monica Carmona, Zoie Nicholson, Barb Langley. The awards were presented by Mark Harpst.

Merle Harpst 2013 licensed winner: Paul Shellabarger, PA-C

Non licensed winner: Barb Langley

A new Outstanding Leadership award was also presented by Don Harpst and Betty Jorgenson to three very deserving individuals whose leadership, hard work and dedication to Tri Valley Health System has made a significant impact throughout the years. Judy Jackson, Beth Siegfried, Mark Harpst represent the giving spirit of Tri Valley Health System and truly lives our mission statement "To improve the lives we touch by providing care of the highest quality throughout our patient's life journey."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: