McCook Community Foundation Fund announces Nelson Hometown scholarships

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

McCOOK, Nebraska -- Kelsey Woitaszewski and Sara Larington, both of McCook, were announced as the new recipients of the Nelson Hometown Scholarship.

Emily Wood, Jordan Pick, and Tate Stang, also of McCook, were re-awarded the Nelson Hometown Scholarship as they continue their studies in the 2013-14 academic year.

The Nelson Hometown Scholarship is a program of the Nelson Institute Fund, an affiliated fund of the Nebraska Community Foundation, and administered annually by the McCook Community Foundation Fund, also an affiliated fund of Nebraska Community Foundation.

The Nelson Institute Fund was established in 1998 through the generosity of Senator E. Benjamin Nelson and his wife Diane Nelson to promote economic development in southwest Nebraska.

The Nelson Hometown Scholarship presents up to five scholarships of $1,500 annually to graduates of McCook High School and Southwest High School who express a strong desire to return to southwest Nebraska and own or operate a business.

Scholarship recipients must attend the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture in Curtis, the University of Nebraska-Kearney, or Mid-Plains Community College in McCook or North Platte.

"Our desire is to shine a light on the excellent educational opportunities available here in southwest Nebraska for our graduating seniors," Senator Nelson explained, "but we also want to show them that this is not only a great place to grow up, but is a fantastic place to call home, to build their careers and to raise their families."

Ms. Woitaszewski will major in Nursing at Mid-Plains Community College in McCook. Ms. Larington plans to study Speech Pathology at University of Nebraska-Kearney.

Selections were made by the McCook Community Foundation Fund's Scholarship Selection Committee, chaired by Janet Korell.

"We had an exceptionally strong candidate pool this year - which is clearly a testament to the quality of educators here in southwest Nebraska. It was unfortunate that we couldn't recognize every outstanding scholar that applied, but the five individuals who are receiving this scholarship are exemplary young leaders with a dedication to learning and a passion for their hometown," Janet Korell explained their decision.

The McCook Community Foundation Fund works to maintain McCook as a vibrant, inclusive community with access to the world for generations to come.

McCook's legacy and heritage have endured for 130 years. MCFF helps prepare McCook for the next 130. If you would like more information on the McCook Community Foundation Fund and our scholarships, please visit, email, like us at or call (308) 344-9363.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: