[mccookgazette.com] Fair ~ 63°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Electoral College in session

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Courtesy photo
Electors gathered with Gov. Dave Heineman Monday to official cast their votes. The are, from left, Gov. Kay Orr, Lincoln; Joe Hampton, Lincoln (representing 1st District); Mick Jensen, Blair; Heineman; Arlene Steier, Omaha (representing District 2); Mary Crawford, Alliance (representing District 3). Gov. Heineman, called Monday's proceedings "historic," thanking the electors for their participation. Nebraska's five votes represent one for each of its members in Congress. In addition to casting their ballot for president (Romney), the members also selected the vice president (Ryan). Six packets of the Nebraska Electoral College documents are sent to the following locations: two sets to the Archivist of the United States, one set to the President of the United States Senate, one set to the Chief Judge of the United States District Court of Nebraska; and the two remaining sets are kept in the office of the Secretary of State. Prior to official business, the group had lunch with Gov. Heineman at the Governor's Mansion.

Fact Check
See inaccurate information in this story?

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: