[mccookgazette.com] Light Rain ~ 37°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 36°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Students awarded $40,900 in scholarships

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

McCOOK, Nebraska -- Students enrolled at McCook Community College for Fall 2012 semester have been awarded a total of over $40,900 in student financial aid for academic year 2012-13 sponsored by the McCook College Foundation and a number of individuals and organizations.

Students awarded Foundation Board Designated and Donor Specified Scholarships are incoming freshmen, returning sophomores, and MCC 2012 graduates continuing their education at Creighton University, Doane College, and University of Nebraska at Kearney. Area students receiving awards include:

Foundation Board Designated - Donor Recognition

$1,000 Gwendolyn McKenzie Scholarship and $500 Melba B. Loker Scholarship: Shelby Hudson, continuing MCC student

$1,000 Frank Murray Scholarship and $ 500 Melba B. Loker Scholarship: Barbara Leising, continuing MCC student

$1,000 Frank Murray Scholarship and $500 Board Designated Scholarship: Amber Leising, continuing MCC student

$1,000 Randy J. Matheny Memorial Patriot Scholarship: Brian Calvin, McCook High School

$1,000 Henry and June Weeth Scholarship: Michael Brodd, Southwest High School

$750 Board Designated Scholarship and $ 250 Wendell Cheney Scholarship: Emily Wood, continuing MCC student

$1,000 Gwendolyn McKenzie Scholarship: Kaelea Stoney, Rawlins Co. High School

$1,000 Henry and June Weeth Scholarship: Taylor Ridder, continuing MCC student

$1,000 Henry and June Weeth Scholarship: Kyle Groshong, McCook High School

$500 Melba B. Loker Scholarship: Jordan May, Southwest High School

$500 Ben F. Hormel Scholarship: Taylor Brooks, Southwest High School

$500 Dorothy Chambers Scholarship: Amber Daffer, Southwest High School

DONOR SPECIFIED SCHOLARSHIPS established through the McCook College Foundation were awarded to the following recipients for academic year 2012-13:

von Riesen Good Citizenship to MCC Graduates: Max Owens attending Creighton University of Omaha; and Brody Hilgenkamp attending Doane College at Crete.

June & Alfred W. Kuper Scholarship: Jessica Parker attending University of Nebraska at Kearney.

Anna Bearg: Kyla Epley, Tylyn Hust, Austin Molcyk, Zackary Riley, Joshua Stevens, Amber TroBaugh

Al Cuellar: Kelsey Collicott

Catherine Deffer-Ryan: Stuart White

Austin & Minnie Dutcher Memorial: Dillon Harpham

Faculty Books: Austin Molcyk

Gore Oil: Kalie Kennedy

Lester and Elizabeth Harsh: Shelby Hubbert

Elizabeth D. & Elwyn Krous: Keith Wallace

Linda Lafferty Memorial Lions Club Scholarship: Amber Flint

Lilyan Melton Memorial: Dillon Harpham

NPPD: John Reeves, Sharry Wagner, Kacie Greenlee

L. Jack & Marjorie Olson: Angelique Witt

Memorial Art

Ramond A. Parker Memorial: Elizabeth Wilcox

Jay A. Person Memorial: Tamara Drullinger

Robert & Lorane Phillips: Conner Palic

Bruce Pick Memorial: Dillon Harpham

McPherron, Skiles, Loop Accounting: Sharry Wagner

Jack & Norma Stevens: Kelsey Collicott

George, Emillie & Don Wall Family Memorial: Laykin Lichty

Kasey Jo Warner Memorial: Keith Wallace

Ernest Weyeneth: Madison Mousel

Julia Wiedman Estate: Nichole Eisenach, Stuart White

Welborn Family Memorial: Brianna Baughman

Helen & Lester Wolfe Scholarship:Brianna Baughman, Amberette Burkey, Christian Conroy, Kalie Kennedy, and Haley Slater

The McCook College Foundation also awarded student financial aid to Kathy Dernovich of Culbertson, enrolled in a bachelor degree program with Bellevue University through McCook Community College.

This Advanced Studies support is sponsored by the Volentine Family Foundation to honor Myatt W. and Mary Genevieve Volentine.

The Foundation's sponsorship of student scholarships is possible because of the generosity and commitment of donors who support educational opportunities at McCook Community College through donations to the McCook College Foundation. The Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation founded solely to provide funding for students and MCC programs and activities, and all donations are tax-deductible. For more information about the programs and support sponsored by the McCook College Foundation, the processes to establish a MCC scholarship program, or how to make application for student financial aid, please contact the Foundation's Director, Janet Werkmeister at 308/345-5233 or via e-mail at mcfoundation@mccooknet.com

Fact Check
See inaccurate information in this story?

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: