[mccookgazette.com] Overcast ~ 42°F  
High: 53°F ~ Low: 36°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Exhibit features MCC art instructor Rick Johnson

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

On display through the end of the month at the Wrightstone Fine Arts Gallery is "Impact's Best" a collaboration of the Nebraska's top artists, including MCC Art Instructor Rick Johnson.

Impact is a non-profit Nebraska visual arts organization founded in 1985 with a mission to educate through outreach programs and exhibitions. Impact maintains a membership of 25-30 Nebraskans.

Members work in a broad range of disciplines, styles, and directions. From its inception, Impact has been recognized for its record of professionalism and creative expression. Membership is limited to Nebraska artists, nationally recognized within their respective artistic disciplines. Artists are elected through an independent jury. Each member is committed to four years, participating in all programs, exhibitions, and meetings. Many of the founding members continue to be a part of the organization, a testament to their level of commitment and perhaps a persuasive reason the organization continues to enjoy success.

Impact offers four major exhibition packages which rotate during a four year cycle. Each follows a thematic direction. The focus is a topic or issue stemming from a Nebraska or mid plains regional source but having a national appeal. Past exhibitions have been shown in large and small venues, regionally and nationally. Impact continues a record of consistently innovative exhibitions which generate interest as well as provide quality educational experiences.

Impact's thematic shows have inspired our artists to creative inventions. But in the privacy of their studios, they have throughout their careers pursued a private vision. Abstract designs, horses, a quilt, a Belly Dancer, pottery, blown glass, metal sculpture, and landscapes painted with the wind in your face -- each artist delves into his or her passion.

For Impact Best, there are no rules and no limits -- each distinguished artist offers his or her signature work.

Johnson was recently selected as one of 13 Nebraska artists whose work will be featured in the Nebraska Governor's Residence, during the 2012/2013 season. Johnson's featured paintings will be on display Nov. 28 -- Dec. 28 at the Governor's Residence, 1425 H Street in Lincoln. He was selected via an open competition and review panel through the Nebraska Arts Council.

The Wrightstone Gallery is open from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday and on Tuesdays Thursdays until 9 p.m.

MCC volleyball 'Pink-Out' night set for Oct. 16

The Oct. 16 volleyball between McCook Community College and Western Nebraska has been designated 'Pink-Out' night by Phi Theta Kappa to commemorate breast cancer awareness month. Game time in the Events Center is 7 p.m.

McCook Lettering is designing the shirts and donating the lettering which will say "McCook For The Cure." The "Pink-Out" shirts will sell for $7 with all T-shirt proceeds and concession stand sales will go toward finding a cure for breast cancer. The McCook Optimists are sponsoring free popcorn for the event.

PTK officers are currently taking orders for the shirts, which will also be on sale on game day. Officers include: Emily Wood, Barbara Leising, Amber Leising, Tiffany Anderson and Nichole Eisenach. Or anyone interested in ordering a shirt can contact PTK advisor Shannon Schaben at 345-8142.

Director seeks three more children for roles

Cast announced for 'A Christmas Carol'

McCook Community College begins work on "A Christmas Carol" tonight at the Weeth Theater, with three children's slots still open, according to Director Sue Watts.

No preparation is necessary, nor is any experience necessary. For more information, contact director Sue Watts at 345-8173.

The play will be presented Nov. 15-17 at the Fox Theater in McCook. Here are the cast members:

Scrooge: Don Harpst

Bob Cratchit: David Sandman

Fred: Joseph McCarty

Mary: Emily Wood

Woman # 1: Allison Priddy

Woman # 2: Barbara Leising

Marley's Ghost: Bryce Osterman

Ghost Of Christmas Past: Phil Lyons

Boy Scrooge: Elliott Tapia

Fran: Zooey Morris

Young Man Scrooge: Joseph McCarty

Dick: Clint Schneringer

Fezziwig: Chuck Trail

Mrs. Fezziwig: Dorothy Stevens

Belle: Emily Karr

Ghost Of Christmas Present: JeriLynn Karr

Snowball Kid: Sydney Rowe

Topper: Clint Schneringer

Ruth: Tiffany Anderson

Two Children: Elliot Tapia, Sydney Rowe

Mrs. Cratchit: LeeAnn McCarty

Martha: Amber Leising

Belinda: Denielle Bennett

Sara: Zooey Morris

Ghost Of Christmas Future: Roger Stupka

Pawnbroker: Lisa Ellis

Charwoman: Cheryl Scott

Laundress: Emily Karr

Undertaker's Assistant: Hope Rowe

Turkey Boy In Street: Elliott Tapia

Mr. Dickens: Charles Trail

Fact Check
See inaccurate information in this story?

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: