Max Owens named MCC Presidential Award Winner

Tuesday, May 1, 2012
Ryan Purdy, Interim President of Mid-Plains Community College presents the MCC Presidential Award to Sophomore Max Owens.

McCOOK, Nebraska -- Sophomore pre-pharmacy major Max Owens, Oconto, received top honors Thursday at McCook Community College's Honor's Convocation, receiving the Presidential Award, given to a student excelling in academics, leadership and service to the community. In addition he was named top student in the Science and Math Division and was named top member of the group SMAC (Students Making Active Choices).

Other top award winners included Nathan Crick of McCook who received the Vice President of MCC Student of the Year award and Sarah Willers, who received the Area Vice President of Educational Services & Student Development Award.

In addition to Owens, other students receiving top honors in their division included; Kacie Greenlee, Business and Technology Division; Justin Beasley, Health Occupations Division; Marcie Carter, Humanities, Human Services and Social Sciences Division; and Devin Watkins, Applied Technology Division.

Four students and two faculty members received Spirit Awards, which are presented to an individual or group who are actively involved and support MCC activities and maintain a positive outlook and shows enthusiasm. The student award winners included: William J. Ortiz, Sr., Veronica Castro, Barbara and Amber Leising. Faculty award winners included Megan Friesen and Janet Weber.

Phi Beta Lambda was named Area Dean of Student Life's Student Organization of the Year Award, and the Area Dean of Student Life, Student Leadership Award was presented to John Reeves.

Brody Hilgenkamp captured MCC's Male Academic Athlete of the year, the baseball players maintains a 4.0 grade point average. In addition, he was also named MCC Scholar Athlete of The Year and MCC's Webzine top journalist.

DeNae Quijas, a member of the women's basketball team was named Female Academic Athlete of the year with a grade-point-average of 3.80. The MCC Men's golf team, coached by Ron Cash, was named MCC academic athletic team of the year with a composite G.P.A. of 3.45

Other MCC students honored included:

Residence Life Awards: Kei Coffey, Onyema Utti, Janessa States, Akia Davis, Mercedes Thomas, Nikola Maric, John Sanchez, Isaiah Easter.

MCC Student Senate Officers: President, Max Owens, Vice-President, Amber Leising, Recorder, Tiffany Anderson.

Phi Theta Kappa Officers: Max Owens , Chapter President, Sarah Willers, Vice President of Leadership, Rachel Yauney, Vice President of Scholarship, Khaley Lee, Vice President of Service, Barbara Leising, Vice President of Fellowship; Emily Wood, was chosen to represent the Nebraska/Wyoming Region in the office of Vice President for the 2012-13 college year.

Student Ambassadors: John Reeves, Danielle Reaves, Kayondra Hood, Trent Kuhn, Travis Kuhn, and Casey McGahan.

Phi Beta Lambda awards winners at state leadership conference: Jessica Midkiff, Kasha Messersmith, and Desiree Washum, Carlos Dominquez, Veronica Waddell, Trisha Rickel, Haley Hilker, Deidre Doyle, Brisa Rodriguez, Nate Crick, John Reeves, Kacie Greenlee, Charles Skilling, III.

MCC Chemistry student of the year: Nick Beumer.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: