St. Francis woman selected MCC commencement student speaker

Thursday, May 12, 2011
Cara Hunt

McCOOK, Nebraska -- Cara Hunt has been selected as the student Commencement speaker for the 2011 McCook Community College Spring Commencement ceremony. She was chosen through an all-campus competitive selection process.

She is the daughter of Carl and Gina Hunt. She was born in St. Francis, and attended school at St. Francis Elementary School and St. Francis Community High School.

While in high school, she became involved with many extracurricular activities, such as music, theatre, and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes organization and was a member of the National Honor Society. She graduated from high school in May 2009, ranking second in her class.

In the fall of 2009, Cara began attending McCook Community College. It wasn't long before she "fell in love" with the campus environment.

"Everyone at MCC has helped me out in some way to get me where I am," she said. "Without them, my college experience wouldn't have been the one I have had."

While at MCC, Cara became active in the MCC Student Senate and Phi Theta Kappa academic honor society, serving as president of both. She was also a student ambassador, a 2011 All State/All USA team member, a Brooks Hall Resident Assistant, and a member of SMAC (Students Making Active Choices) as well as being involved with the MCC Webzine, Campus Crusade for Christ, and in the theatre and music departments at the college.

Hunt plans to attend Hastings College, where she will major in broadcasting and minor in English. After completing her education, she hopes to become a broadcaster.

"I would like to recognize my family and friends for being the ones who encouraged me to continue my education. Without them, I wouldn't be where I am today. MCC has been the best decision that I have made. It has prepared me for the future in so many ways. I will never forget all of the friends and memories created here. MCC has become my home."

Commencement ceremonies are 10 a.m. Friday at True Hall. They can be viewed online at http://video.mpcc. edu/live/channel1.html



Associate of Arts

Aurora, Colo. -- Kirby Jones

Beaver City -- Taylor Reaves

Benkelman -- Alan Burgess

Cambridge -- Elizabeth Macke

Culbertson -- Sarah Koch

Danbury -- Hayes Clark

Fresno, Texas -- Ashalla Dyer

Hayes Center -- Tiffani Dow

Imperial -- Cody Nicholson, Alex Sharp

Indianola -- Danielle Stephen

Lakewood, Colo. -- Josh Newman

McCook -- Steven Bales, Joanna Bryant, David DeCarlo, Matthew Esch, Jessica Flint, Kyle Gamble, Kayla Goodenberger, Nicole Gummere, Keith Haskin, Cara Hunt, Kelsey Korell, Adrian Lambing, Kali Lyons, Tasha Nelson, Claudia Ortega, Ashley Palic, Tara Powell, Jacqlyn Stickley, Samantha Stuck, Danielle Wiese, Jennifer Zulkanycz

Monument, Colo. -- Gabriella Hiester

Parks -- Misty Mather

Perry Hall, Maryland -- Tommy Barnes

Wauneta -- Amelisa Straub

Westminster -- Matthew Rohrig

Associate of General Studies

Danbury -- Regina Witt

Maywood -- Brooke Davis

McCook -- Dannelle Bales, Briana Barger

Westminster, Colo. -- Andrew Cook

Associate of Science

Benkelman -- Alan Burgess

Cambridge -- Troy Hayes, Riley Wusk

Colorado Springs, Colo. Erik Montes, George Pollard

Culbertson -- Shane Wilkinson

Curtis -- Clint Bryant

Gunnison, Colo. -- Jacqueline Lovato

Hendley -- Kaleb Huxoll

Indianola -- Deanna Wright

Lakewood, Colo. -- Jordan Krenik

McCook -- Nathan Araujo, Jayme Bales, Nolan Brown, Danielle Cappel, Dyan Carey, Dylan Clabaugh, Chelsie Clapp, Natasha Coons, Ryan Farrell, Alexander Garcia, Miguel Gonzales, Kayla Goodenberger, Kathleen Harley, Cara Hunt, Danielle Kearns, Bailey Lauer, Danae McCorkle, Ryan Meyers, Tara Powell, Lesley Ruggles Brittanie Scarbrough, Lacey Tefft, Blake Vaughn, Shelby Woitaszewski, Rachel Yauney

Miami, Fla. -- Davina Jefferson

Mullen -- Clayton Osborn

Trenton -- Amber Stone

Tulsa, Okla. -- Jasmine Waggnor, Amanda Hester

Wauneta -- Staci Lawless

Wellington, Colo. -- Donell Betts

Associate of Applied Science -- Business: Business Administration Emphasis

Cambridge -- Kimberly Fegley

Danbury -- Alan Haag

Indianola -- Shelby Lytle

McCook -- Jacob Metcalf, Christina Clint

Palisade -- Jason Weiss

Associate of Applied Science -- Business Technology: Medical Emphasis

Arapahoe -- Ashley Leising

McCook -- William Ortiz Sr.

Associate of Applied Science -- Emergency Medical Services

Centennial, Colo. -- Laura Scott

La Junita, Colo. -- Jesse Smith

McCook -- Joe Coughlan, Catherine Cronin, Adam Kuehl, Leslie Peterson

Omaha -- Kory Hynes

Rapid City, S.D. -- Robert Ginga

Associate of Applied Science -- Fire Science Technology

McCook -- Shane Smith

Associate of Applied Science -- Graphic Design

McCook -- Krystal Anderson, Paul Carlon, Trisha Rickel, Sharen Saf

Oberlin, Kan. -- Elisha Jones

Associate of Applied Science -- Welding and Machine Shop Technology

Herndon, Kan. -- Nathan Stoney

McCook -- Jacob Reiners

Business Technology Diploma

McCook -- Peggy Kauk

Early Childhood Education Diploma

Champion -- Hallie Deaver

Maywood -- Brooke Davis

Fire Science Diploma

McCook -- Lucas Rinehart

Early Childhood Education Certificate

Arapahoe -- Ashley Leising

Beaver City -- Mercedes Thomas

Culbertson -- Sarah Koch

McCook -- Chelsie Clapp, Natasha Coons, Nicole Gummere, Whitney Jones, Kali Lyons, Lacey Tefft

Medical Transcriptionist Certificate

Oberlin, Kan. -- Dorian Pauls

Print Design Certificate

McCook -- Briana Barger

Web Design Certificate

McCook -- Sharen Saf


May 2011 Graduates from Southwest Nebraska include:

(Commencement ceremonies are at 3 p.m.)

Associate of Arts

Eustis -- Jacey Schultheiss

Imperial -- Shawnda Ducker

McCook -- Stephanie Gaboury

Trenton -- Kwencey Eyl

Associate of Science

Maywood -- Rebecca Gray

Stratton -- Kristin Craw

Trenton -- Ashley Garner

Associate Degree Nursing

Eustis -- Kenzie Banzhaf

Farnam -- Jamie Gugelman

McCook -- Colleen Benson, Melissa Detty, Kimberly Miller

Trenton -- Laken Vrbas

Associate of Applied Science -- Building Construction Technology

Imperial -- Edgar Almanza

McCook -- Matthew Kenner

Associate of Applied Science -- Business: Business Administration and Marketing Emphasis

Eustis -- Jaimee Easterday

Associate of Applied Science -- Business: Business Administration Emphasis

Hayes Center -- April Carroll

Associate of Applied Science -- Dental Assisting

Curtis -- Katie Thompson

Associate of Applied Science -- Diesel Technology

Maywood -- Jack Loomis

Associate of Applied Science -- Graphic Design

Farnam -- Jewelene Cole

Associate of Applied Science -- Information Technology: PC Support/Network Technology Emphasis

Cambridge -- Taylor Lewis

Associate of Applied Science -- Welding and Machine Shop Technology

Maywood -- John White

44 Credit Hours Diploma -- Automotive Technology

Curtis -- Jacob Byrd

44 Credit Hours Diploma -- Building Construction Technology

Cambridge -- Pake Hilker

44 Credit Hours Diploma -- Electrical Technology

Imperial -- Jeff Banks, Alec Spady

44 Credit Hours Diploma -- Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning Technology

McCook -- George Huff

Dental Assisting Diploma

Curtis -- Katie Thompson

Practical Nursing Diploma

Cambridge -- Tracy Hamel

Automotive Technology Certificate

Curtis -- Jacob Byrd

Basic Auto Body Certificate

Curtis -- Jacob Byrd

Basic Engine and Electrical Repair Certificate

Culbertson -- Christian Sullivent

Maywood -- Jack Loomis

Diesel Technology Certificate

Maywood -- Jack Loomis

Fuel Systems Certificate

Maywood -- Jack Loomis

Power Train Certificate

Maywood -- Jack Loomis

Print Design Certificate

Palisade -- Kari Klumpe

Suspension and Alignment Certificate

Curtis -- Jacob Byrd

Transmission and Driveline Certificate

Curtis -- Jacob Byrd

Tune--up Certificate

Curtis -- Jacob Byrd

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: