Incumbent deadline Tuesday; some slots open

Monday, July 14, 2008

Non-incumbents still have time to file for several vacancies in election races that will be decided in the 2008 General Election.

The vacancies include some for the villages of Bartley, Danbury and Lebanon, the McCook Public Power District and Twin Valley Public Power District.

Incumbents had until tomorrow to refile; non-incumbents have until Aug. 1.

There are two four-year vacancies for Bartley village. Incumbents are Larry Blackman and James Morris, who have not yet filed for re-election.

For Danbury, there are two, four-year terms open, with both incumbents, Eugene Axtell and Ardie Berry, filing for re-election.

In Lebanon, there are three positions open, all for four years, with only one incumbent, Fred Ingold, who has filed for re-election. The other two incumbents, Floyd Finch and George T. Wasson, have not yet re-filed.

The McCook Public Power District, Subdivision 6, has one vacancy open for a six-year term. Incumbent Roger Messinger has not yet filed for re-election.

Twin Valley Public Power, Subdivision 2, has a one vacancy open, for a six-year term, and incumbent Brent Ballou has filed to run again.

There are also several positions open on the board of Educational Service Unit 15, as the district had to re-organize into districts based on population due to a new law passed by the Nebraska Legislature.

The ESU covers 15 counties and has been divided into 10 election districts based on population.

This means the board will remain with 10 board members but representatives will be elected from a wider area.

Incumbents who have filed for re-election include: Dave Jibbon, Curtis; Cheri Burke, Imperial; Kate Repass, Hayes Center; Greg Fyn, Culbertson and Ken Foster, McCook. Incumbents who have not yet re-filed are Weldon Sleight, Curtis; Rob Spencer, Culbertson; Linda Ruzicka, Trenton; Linda Delgado, Hayes Center and John Owens, Benkelman.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: