Bison runners place 7th, 8th at GNAC meet Saturday in Columbus

Monday, October 10, 2005

COLUMBUS -- McCook's boys and girls cross country team competed at the Greater Nebraska Athletic Conference meet Saturday in Columbus.

The Bison boys placed seventh, with Ryan Ankersen finishing in the top 30 along with Cody Martin.

The girls finished in eighth place.

"We ran well at the meet," said McCook cross country coach Tom Sughroue. "Most of the runners ran personal bests for the year. I was very pleased with that, but with the stiff competition we were back in the pack. In my opinion the GNAC meet is our toughest of the year even compared to districts.

"With the scoring of five runners instead of four like we are used to doing, it makes our fifth runner that much more important. The weather was great with the temp around 65 with a slight breeze the only way it could have been better was to have a little rain."

"We did not finish as high in the team scores as I had hoped but with five Class A schools and two of the top Class B schools it is going to be a very tough meet. The course itself was great.

"It was not the typical course of running on a well manicured golf course. It was more like a park setting out in the middle of a corn field. I really liked the course and so did the kids."

Jessica Schmidt and Suflan Kimo took the first-place medals for Norfolk.

Hastings' girls came in ahead of McCook in seventh and under the Bison boys in eighth. North Platte finished in the sixth and fifth positions, while Scottsbluff's boys finished first and Columbus took the number one spot for the girls.

GNAC Girls

Team Scores

Columbus 39

Scottsbluff 52

Kearney 71

Lexington 117

Norfolk 135

North Platte 138

Hastings 145

McCook 223


32. Rebecca Rawlings 18:39

43. Christi Burroughs 19:38

48. Renetta Rawlings 20:12

49. Megan Skiles 20:25

51. Kelsey Schoup 21:37

52. Jennifer Herron 24:42


Team Scores

Scottsbluff 42

Kearney 53

Norfolk 65

Lexington 110

North Platte 138

Columbus 143

McCook 203

Hastings 208


21. Ryan Ankerson 17:22

27. Cody Martin 17:47

50. Carson Kain 20:26

51. Jake Forbes 20:36

54. Jake Echardt 21:34

55. Michael Jordan 22:11

56. Ian Hunter 22:34

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: